Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-23 - 8:50 a.m.

menstrual blues

mmm

been busy. busy... smoking on the couch and watching movies and cuddling with iggy and adam. busy this month coming. next weekend, a wedding in new orleans. two weeks later, home to OK with adam. Two weeks later, to hilton head with adam's family. after that we may not travel for years. but i'm looking forward to it all.

bum day yesterday. really just a bum 20 minutes after the dressing room at J.Crew. it had the harshest light, like white ice. my face looked zitty as hell, and these spider veins on my thighs were wrapping around my leg, just under the edge of the shorts I was trying on. Well no f'ing wonder I haven't worn shorts above my knees in years. I forgot somehow. So that left me feeling pretty shitty (and I am on my period, HELLO EMOTIONAL). I looked up the treatment for spider veins. It's called sclerotherapy, and the doctor injects something into those tiny veins that makes them close off. Sounds simple to me. I'd love to have it done. Adam got mad when I said that, like he thinks i'm insane. I'm glad he loves me just how I am, cause I don't always.

I dunno. I'm not feeling so hot these days. At least i've started going to the gym, but I really need to stop eating so much. But I just LOVE eating. And it's hard to not eat late, with our schedules. Something to work on. Or keep bitching about in another six months.

Sometimes i hate walking around in New York because there are so many beautiful people. Maybe not beautiful, but stunning and slim. But the people I know like that have weird habits. One of them never works out but occasionally goes on crash diets. The other goes to the gym all the time, and is recently doing a series of six weekly colonics. she's loving them. i'm sorta obsessed, thinking about them. she says it's great, that her food digests so much faster. I imagine it's like this huge clogged artery, suddenly turning from a snake to a firehose. and she's lost 10 lbs (which she DIDN'T WANT to. she's obsessed with having chicken legs. she is rather small but HOT and curvy.) anyway I like the idea of feeling healthier inside-out (and could spare 10 lbs of my own.) her semi-famous actor boyfriend gets it done, too, which made adam intrigued instead of disdaining...

speaking of famous people and adam� how in the world does he know and recognize every celebrity? he amazes me. We were in the adidas store in soho yesterday and he was like "that guy is probably the only male supermodel" and i looked and it was just some black dude. adam said "yeah, you'd recognize him without his shirt." ok. he does lots for ralph lauren apparently. i mean, shit, kristen works there and adam recognizes their models better than I do. he's nuts. it's great though � i love that he's a trove of unexpected information.

so I made something delicious yesterday. I cut a few peaches into little chunks and put them in a jar, covered with Rose wine, and left them all day. HOLY CANNOLI they were delicious. that will be my new summer obsession. imagine, drunk summer fruit over vanilla ice cream. drunk summer fruit in wine (sangria for one?). oh the options. I wish i could put some in my LUNCHBOX FOR WORK but let's not push it.

work is WEIRD. my Boss is very reserved. she isn't an american and keeps her distance from her staff. I've thought she hated me. even after I got an unexpected raise. really. so anyway, she has very few pet peeves, and they're very obvious. 1) No Jeans. Not even on fridays... so this is corporate policy and Boss is just trying to uphold it, even though her own Boss peers sometimes break it. It drives my coworkers crazy. we're in a "creative" field, and they think it's absurd. I do too, but who really cares? I'm fine in skirts. and jeans aren't the most flattering on fat-thighs schmarkey. but it's still lame. anyway, she's been on a tirade lately about that, and about 2) Be On Time. She wants us to all be in our seats "when the bell rings" at 9am, ready to discuss our work. which is a little OOC (out-of-control) but whatever. anyway, there are usually two of us there at 9 and then another four roll in before 9.15, and then the two men roll in by 9.30. it's a lame rule, but I know she's obsessed and i'm freelance, so why not make Boss happy? But even her Boss-Underling-Cohorts aren't usually in. Anyway she had a conniption fit friday. I thought she was going to start frothing. I was there so I looked good, but it was just really lame and I hate working in a lame environment. but lately i have felt like she's been loving me which is good i guess. I don't lick her boots or anything but I just get what I need to done, without attitude, and it works. We have my first job to thank for that. It trained me to be a good subsurvient staff-member. Which may pay off in the long run. It's better to just think of it as a JOB and to realize that part of my job is to "make my boss look good". RV taught me that, and it's totally true. true but weird. THEY PAY ME FOR THIS, AND THEY PAY WELL, SO I WILL JUST SHUT UP.

adam's still in bed. i've finished my iced cofffee (iced after brewing yesterday. need to start that trick for the summer. yummers.) iggy is sitting in the kitchen window, watching the birds. we got him a bird-feeder last weekend and they have finally found it. he loves it. it's crazy to watch him twitching, and making that little chatter sound. he seems a little less lonely with something to look at.

Well i'm going to try to make Club Strength ? at the gym and see how it goes. TTYL.

Love.J

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend!